Orkney Network

This is the latest news from the Orkney Eco-Congregation network.


Subscribe to our monthly newsletter

If you would like to receive our free monthly newsletter please click here.

  • Welcome Stromness Parish Church

    Join us in welcoming our latest registration, Stromness Church of Scotland Parish Church, who signed up as our most recent Eco-Congregation! Here’s where they are!

    We look forward to hearing what they get up to in 2017!

  • Shapinsay Church gain Eco-Congregation Award.

    (Left to right) Mark Kirkbride (Eco-congregation), Kenny Meason (Session Clerk Shapinsay), Revd. Julia Meason (Minister), Caroline Bird (Church Secretary)

    (Left to right) Mark Kirkbride (Eco-congregation), Kenny Meason (Session Clerk Shapinsay), Revd. Julia Meason (Minister), Caroline Bird (Church Secretary)

    On Sunday 24th July members of Shapinsay Church were awarded their first Eco award by Orkney resident Mark Kirkbride, a trustee of Eco-congregation Scotland. Mark commented:

    “This award is in recognition of the significant steps that members of Shapinsay church have taken to reduce their carbon footprint and working with the Shapinsay school on environmental activity. It is very well deserved. I am most impressed by the commitment of all the congregation to Eco activities and including installation of air source heating and taking a significant part in Shapinsay’s ‘Bag the Bruck’ in collaboration with local people. The minister even drives an electric car!”

    Receiving the award during a joint Sunday morning service with members from the Peedie Kirk, minister Revd Julia Meason said “I was delighted to receive the first eco-congregation award today on behalf of the Shapinsay Church of Scotland. Over the last year we’ve worked on a number of areas of our congregational life and witness and are very pleased with our achievement. We’re a small congregation but we do want to do our bit for God’s creation. It is an important part of who we are as Christians.”


    Picture shows (Left to right) Mark Kirkbride (Eco-congregation), Kenny Meason (Session Clerk Shapinsay), Revd. Julia Meason (Minister), Caroline Bird (Church Secretary)

  • Exciting new developments from the Local Networks Seminar 2015 – Report now available!

    The 2015 Local Networks Seminar took place in Dunblane on Saturday 26th September. This year the main themes discussed at the Seminar have been used to propose an exciting new way of providing web-based resources, which can be downloaded and printed out to encourage more participation in our congregations.

    After considering what other resources are available, the ECS Board now plans to invite individuals / congregations / networks, with the relevant experience and expertise, to contribute to developing and writing the new resources.

    Local Networks Seminar Report 2015  also lists a whole host of topics and speakers from networks all around the country (see Appendix 3). If you are not already involved in a network, take a look and see what you might be missing! Everyone is welcome at network meetings – you don’t have to be from a registered congregation. Full information about your local network can be found here.

  • Presentation from John Ferguson of EcoideaM Ltd now available to download

    Presentation given by John Ferguson from EcoideaM Ltd on 26th September at the Local Networks Seminar. A full report of the day will follow.

    The presentation can be downloaded in PowerPoint format here: Eco Congregation Seminar Dunblane 260915

  • Report from the Climate Justice baton’s visit to the Orkney Islands #cop21baton

    Adrian Shaw’s report from the visit of the baton to Orkney is now available here.


« Older Posts


More information

If you wish to contact the Energy Saving Trust Alan Grant, the Community Liaison Officer, may be a helpful place to start. His contact details are:

Alan Grant
Fairways House, Fairways Business Park, Inverness, IV2 6AA | T 01463 259 707 | E alan.grant@hi.energysavingscotland.org.uk

Customer advice line: 0800 512 012 (Ayrshire, Dumfries and Galloway only)